Polaris Bank has announced new board members after its acquisition by Strategic Capital Investment Limited.

As part of the change in ownership, the SCIL appointed a new independent board of directors to lead the bank’s growth strategy.

A statement said, “The new board will be led by the existing Chairman, M K Ahmad. He will be joined on the board by six non-executive directors and three executive directors, bringing extensive experience in the banking and wider financial services sector in Nigeria and internationally, and expertise in corporate governance, human resource management, law and regulation.”

According to the statement, Mr Adekunle Sonola is the Executive managing Director/Chief Executive Officer; while Mr Abdullahi Mohammed and Mr Segun Opeke are executive directors.

The non-executive directors are Mr Abubakar Suleiman; Ms Salma Mohammed; Mr Adeleke Adedipe; Mr Ahmed Almustapha; Mr Francesco Cuzzocrea; and Mrs Olabisi Odunowo.